Kura – A Case Study of wāhine success

Some of our cohort mete have been discussing the significance of the tupuna Kura-maro-tini. I’ve searched for published pūrākau or writings and have reflected on kōrero that I’ve heard on Marae. Granted, my reo is developing, so perhaps I have missed kōrero here and there BUT I can’t seem to recall ancestral stories of the wāhine in my line being elevated to the title of ‘trail blazer’ and / or ‘Rangatira’.

The exclusion of our ancestral wāhine stories at the kainga and the omission of the practices that revere our Atua Wāhine, has me feeling hoha, when I’m hoha I can be a waha nui, something encouraged by my nannies and passed off as brash by my uncles (also by others……I’m working on this:). Much of the western or dominant paradigm view of entrepreneurs and entrepreneurial activity is masculine in nature. Any notion that challenges this view is seen as ‘soft’, part of wokedom theory that is yet to be proven. To be a savvy entrepreneur (associated with the businessMAN) you’ve got to have ‘balls’, right? Wrong!

In reflecting on the discussions that my mete have been having, Kura Te Ua, Creative Producer of Hawaiki TŪ, a Māori entreprenuer within our cohort has come to mind. Firstly, the whakapapa of the ingoa Kura will be explored, will we find any commons with Kura-maro-tini? Perhaps – beauty (tick). In reviewing the Fire Triangle framework of Ahi Kaa, Ahi Kimi, Tahuna te Ahi, I’m excited about the prospect of showcasing the creative mahi of a fellow cohort member. I can already see how the answers might lead us to some fresh insights.

Connection with Kura’s kaupapa is recent (since the beginning of this programme), a vivid memory of her and our first-ever class presentation, got me shook and I took notice. A performance depicting whatever the assignment was in Professor Mānuka Hēnare’s course, left me wanting to know more about her purpose, art and business. Papa Mānuka said something that stuck with me and which I associated with Kura’s performance, it went something like this – an abundance of Māori art and artists is an indicator of our peoples’ prosperity. This positive reframing of our society through history and in the now is what I hope to reflect through this case study and with a wāhine twist.

Shout out to Weets! Love your male energy in this cohort! Poor guy!!

Leave a comment